Social Bookmarking – de.icio.us (a must!)

I first heard about del.icio.us (a social bookmarking) site through a friend last year who recommended it to me. Due to lack of time and not really understanding what it was about and how it would benefit me I filed the link in my virtual ‘to do’ folder and promptly forgot about it. Big mistake! I finally decided to explore it at the weekend whilst being away from my main PC, carrying out extensive research and wanting the best way to log all my finds. Now I have a del.icio.us account I can access my favourite links wherever I am and regardless of which computer I am using – I no longer have to rely simply on my ‘favourites’ list stored on my main PC – particularly useful when you often end up planning and working both at home and in school.

So how does del.icio.us work? It is simply a social book marking system which stores bookmarks online, allowing users to create an online list of sites they find most useful. It is incredibly simple and easy to use and once registered you simply install the del.icio.us buttons to your browser toolbar. Once these are installed, each time you find a site you want to save you simply hit the tag button, type in keywords which describe the site / content and your site is stored. By using key words (tags) to bookmark you end up with a user friendly list of keywords handily categorising your links!

Your favourite lists and those of all other members of the site are accessible publicly and therefore you and others can benefit greatly from the sharing of bookmarks. You have the option to see how many and who has bookmarked the same sites that you have tagged; you can then visit their del.icio.us list to find other sites of relevance to your topic of interest.

I am in the very early stages of using this, but within only a matter of days I have already begun to build up a favourites list which is easy to search, user friendly, clearly categorised for easy searching, and accessible anywhere!. I can see my list growing quickly, particularly as I begin to make use of others ‘finds’ by searching relevant links that others have identified and tagged.

If you have never heard of del.icio.us before, or if like me it remains ‘one of those things to do’, stop what you are doing and register now! It takes 5 mins and you are off! Finally, a way to access your favourite links on any PC – anywhere! Now why haven’t I looked at this before!

To see how the whole thing works you can access my del.icio.us links here.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

